Days 63/64/65: In which I watch a comedy competition, eat Panda Express, and go home, respectively.

Sorry for not blogging. Last night Simon and I spent about two hours at a stand up comedy contest (18 student comics, 5 minutes each) in an on-campus restaurant/bar called Orange and Brew (see what they did there?). I was soooo tired, so I conked out right upon coming home (and showering and calling my mom, of course). Tonight we went to the Reitz Union for dinner (I had a huge amount of fried rice and was super satisfied). I’m again very exhausted, but I don’t have class until 11:45 tomorrow; therefore, I decided you needed a quick update.

Tomorrow afternoon, I’m going home. I know I went home the weekend before last, but I’m pretty excited to go see my family and relax a bit. Last time it was Jono’s play weekend so it was nuts; this weekend should be a little (by a tiny bit) less crazy. Maybe I can actually get some studying done for Monday’s math test.

Just a quick few things before I climb into bed with my computer and Reddit until I fall asleep:

1. This site is really cool. The future of music videos? It’s customized to your house (I used Grand Tree) and in that, is pretty surreal. The song is good too. I’ve done/watched this about five times using different addresses and haven’t gotten tired of it yet.

2. I have a whole bunch of music I want to buy on iTunes. Like $15ish, $20 worth to buy. Joe Brooks and next week’s Taylor Swift… oh my!

3. Class registration is kind of crazy. I need to do some serious contemplation and get really advised before November 16.

In case you were wondering, I’m not a fan of The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. Like, it’s a bunch of celebrities’ favorite book (namely, Kevin Jonas) and it’s quoted often when talking about teenagers, but I just don’t get the appeal. I bought it a few summers ago (most likely because Kevin said something about it), and have read it probably five times since.

I keep hoping that I’ll have an epiphany where it either a) becomes the spectacular novel everyone says it is or b) I all of a sudden get/appreciate it. So far, nothing.

It’s not like it’s a bad book at all. I mean, the story is okay (very Catcher in the Rye-esque — no real plot or movement of time, just a lot of self-exploration and narration) and I understand that it’s supposed to be like that because it’s one of those loss of innocence/maturation novels. I just am continually underwhelmed by everything else — the characters aren’t particularly likable, the events that happen (to be honest) make me uncomfortable at times, and the entire book is just all over the place. The reader has to do a lot of connecting and thinking as the story continues, but there’s really no suspense or puzzle to figure out. The ending is lackluster and although it’s nice in a closure sort of way, it’s truly just sad.

One good thing has come of it, though: in researching how to correctly spell Chbosky, I learned that this December they’re going to start filming a movie adaptation starring Logan Lerman and Emma Watson. At least that will be cute, right?

Days 63/64/65: I love rice and am not going to blog tomorrow night because I’ll be in my own bed! :)

PS: God, Obama is da bomb.

Leave a Reply

